Music and NPR News for Central and Northern Michigan
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Redistricting Commission adopts final Congressional map

Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission
The congressional map, called "Chestnut," adopted by the MICRC

Michigan’s Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission has officially picked the state’s Congressional boundaries for the next decade.

Eight commissioners—including the necessary 2-2-2 split of Republicans, Independents and Democrats—chose the proposed map Tuesday.

The boundaries set up three main battleground districts for upcoming congressional elections.

That includes one combining Grand Rapids and Muskegon, a Lansing-centered one, and a district near Detroit featuring Warren, Sterling Heights and Rochester Hills.

The commission’s final maps are likely to face legal challenge.