Legislation targets distracted drivers
A bill being considered in Lansing would ban the use of cell phones by drivers. It’s an expansion of Michigan’s 2010 law banning texting while driving.
House Bill 4466 would ban drivers from making calls, performing web searches, viewing photos or videos, and typing emails, among other functions. The goal is to reduce distracted driving in Michigan. Hands-free phone operation would still be allowed.
The legislation would also increase penalties for first time offenses, from $100 to $200. A second or subsequent violation could prompt a $500 fine, and points on your driver's license.
The bill is being considered by the House Transportation Committee.