Music and NPR News for Central and Northern Michigan
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Snyder declares state of disaster for 17 counties affected by February floods

Flickr user jim crossley

Governor Snyder this week declared a state of disaster in several Michigan counties following February's widespread flooding.

State officials said 17 counties and two cities qualify to apply for assistance to offset the costs local governments faced due to flooding.

Areas affected include: Allegan, Arenac, Barry, Berrien, Cass, Clare, Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Mecosta, Newaygo, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Ottawa, and St. Joseph counties.

Dale George is a spokesman with Michigan Emergency Management and Homeland Security. He said the money comes from Michigan’s disaster and emergency contingency funds.

“Now this is local governments and it’s assistance grants for up to $100,000 or ten percent of the previous years operating budget, whichever is less”.

George said funds may be used for covering infrastructure repairs or excess emergency relief costs.

He said assistance may also become available to help private businesses that suffered flood damage because The National Small Business Association will analyze affected counties to determine if private property owners could qualify for assistance.

“If the damage meets their threshold which I believe it’s 25 properties that have sustained at least 40 percent of uninsured losses”.

George said if the SBA determines enough private properties meet their requirements, those eligible would qualify for low interest loans.