Music and NPR News for Central and Northern Michigan
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Midwest governors announce they will collaborate to open state’s economies.


Governor Gretchen Whitmer today announced that she will be working with the governors of Ohio, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky to reopen the state’s economies.


The group says it will examine four factors to determine how and when to take action: 

  • Sustained control of the rate of new infections and hospitalizations. 
  • Enhanced ability to test and trace. 
  • Sufficient health care capacity to handle resurgence. 
  • Best practices for social distancing in the workplace. 

 The governors said, “Here in the Midwest, we are bound  by our commitment to our people and the community. We recognize that our economies are all reliant on each other, and we must work together to safely reopen them so hardworking people can get back to work and businesses can get back on their feet.” 
“Our number one priority when analyzing when best to reopen our economy is the health and safety of our citizens. We will make decisions based on facts, science, and recommendations from experts in health care, business, labor, and education. 
The governors said phasing in sectors of the economy will be most effective when done regionally. They say the collaboration doesn’t mean all state’s economies will reopen at once or that every state will take the same steps, but that they will work together to tackle challenges together. 

Amy began working for WCMU in late-2006. She is the local host of All Things Considered, and WCMU's News Director. She is responsible for leading a team of reporters covering stories throughout WCMU's 44 county coverage area.